Christian Sachse

EPFL CDH SHS-GE
CM 2 274 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

Office:  CM 2 274
EPFL > CDH > CDH-SHS > SHS-ENS

vCard
Administrative data

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

Humanities and Social Sciences Program

Courses

Philosophy of biology

Identify and understand central issues in the philosophy of biology, notably about biological evolution and the emergence of life. Evaluate and compare crucial arguments in the debates. Synthesize the discussion and thus formulate and defend one's own position.

Philosophy of science

This course offers to identify and understand central issues in the philosophy of science, for instance the debate on different models of scientific explanation. Evaluate and compare crucial arguments in the debates. Present a position/a debate and manage the discussion.

Philosophy of life sciences I

Understand and discuss central issues in the philosophy of life sciences, e.g. that of reductionism or why free will might be an illusion. Transpose problems and arguments from one debate to another. Evaluate the impact of the scientific worldview on us.

Philosophie de la vie II

Evaluate the main positions in a chosen philosophical debate. Develop in your group a solid approach to one or more philosophical problems of that debate. Defend your analysis and conclusions.

Christian Sachse

vCard
Données administratives

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

Humanities and Social Sciences Program

Cours

Philosophie des sciences A

Identifier et comprendre les débats et problèmes centraux en philosophie de la biologie, par exemple autour de l'évolution biologique ou de la définition du vivant. Evaluer et comparer les arguments cruciaux dans ces débats. Synthétiser la discussion et donc formuler et défendre sa propre position.

Philosophie des sciences B

Ce cours propose d'identifier et comprendre les débats et problèmes centraux en philosophie des sciences, p.ex. le débat concernant les différents modèles de l'explication scientifique. Evaluer et comparer les arguments cruciaux dans ces débats. Présenter une position/un débat et gérer sa discussion

Philosophy of life sciences I

Identifier et comprendre les débats centraux en philosophie des sciences de la vie, par exemple celui du réductionnisme. Transposer des problèmes et des arguments d'un débat à l'autre. Evaluer les implications des sciences naturelles pour la compréhension de notre nature humaine.

Philosophy of life sciences II