Andreas Peter Burg

photo placeholder image

andreas.burg@epfl.ch +41 21 693 69 24

EPFL STI IEL TCL
ELD 130 (Bâtiment ELD)
Station 11
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Web site: https://tcl.epfl.ch

vCard
Administrative data

Publications

Infoscience publications

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

Electrical and Electronics Engineering

PhD Programs

Doctoral Program in Microsystems and Microelectronics

Doctoral Program in Electrical Engineering

Doctoral program in computer and communication sciences

Courses

Digital systems design

Students will acquire basic knowledge about methodologies and tools for the design, optimization, and verification of custom digital systems/hardware. They learn how to design synchronous digital circuits on register transfer level, analyse their timing ...

Lab in digital systems design

Students will learn how to construct a complex digital embedded system on an FPGA with many peripheral components. The system includes microprocessors, IP blocks, custom hardware components, as well as software. After a guided example, students will devel...

Lab in information technologies

Get familiar with experimental aspects of the main domains of the orientation "Information and communication technologies"

Fundamentals of VLSI design

The course introduces the fundamentals of digital integrated circuits and the technology aspects from a designers perspective. It focuses mostly on transistor level, but discusses also the extension to large digital semicustom designs.

Advanced VLSI design

In this project-based course, students collect hands-on experience with designing full-custom digital VLSI circuits in dynamic logic. They learn to carry out the design and optimization on transistor level, including logic and clock tree, the verification...

Wireless receivers: algorithms and architectures

The students will learn about the basic principles of wireless communication systems, including transmission and modulation schemes as well as the basic components and algorithms of a wireless receiver. They develop an understanding for the wireless chann...

Advanced wireless receivers

Students extend their knowledge on wireless communication systems to spread-spectrum communication and to multi-antenna systems. They also learn about the basic information theoretic concepts, about channel coding, and bit-interleaved coded modulation.

Design and Optimization of Internet-of-Things Systems

This course provides an overview of the relevant technologies and approaches for the design and optimization of Internet-of-Things (IoT) systems. It covers architectures of edge computing platforms, wireless communication options, cloud computing backend ...

Energy Autonomous Wireless Smart Systems

(Coursebook not yet approved by the section)

Andreas Peter Burg

photo placeholder image

andreas.burg@epfl.ch +41 21 693 69 24

EPFL STI IEL TCL
ELD 130 (Bâtiment ELD)
Station 11
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Site web: https://tcl.epfl.ch

vCard
Données administratives

Publications

Publications Infoscience

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

Electrical and Electronics Engineering

Programmes doctoraux

Doctoral Program in Microsystems and Microelectronics

Doctoral Program in Electrical Engineering

Doctoral program in computer and communication sciences

Cours

Digital systems design

Le cours permet d'acquérir des connaissances de base sur les méthodologies et les outils pour la conception, l'optimisation et la vérification de composants et systèmes matériels digitaux. Le langage VHDL est utilisé pour décrire une architecture matérielle qui sera ensuite synthétisée sur FPGA.

TP de conception de systèmes numériques

Les étudiants apprendront comment réaliser un système embarqué numérique complexe sur FPGA. Le système inclut des processeurs, des blocs IP, des composants personnalisés, ainsi que du logiciel. Après un exemple guidé, les étudiants développeront leur propre système.

TP en technologies de l'information

Se familiariser avec les aspects pratiques des disciplines de l'orientation «Technologies de l'information»

Fundamentals of VLSI design

Le cours présente les principes fondamentaux des circuits intégrés numériques et les aspects technologiques du point de vue des concepteurs. Il se concentre principalement sur le niveau des transistors, mais discute également de l'extension aux grandes conceptions numériques semi-personnalisées.

Advanced VLSI design

Dans ce cours basé sur un projet, les étudiants acquièrent une expérience pratique de la conception de circuits VLSI numériques entièrement personnalisés en logique dynamique. Ils apprennent à réaliser la conception et l'optimisation au niveau du transistor, y compris la logique et le clock tree.

Wireless receivers: algorithms and architectures

Les étudiants apprendront les principes de base des systèmes de communication sans fil, y compris les schémas de transmission et de modulation ainsi que les composants et algorithmes de base d'un récepteur sans fil. Ils développent une compréhension des performances et des limites du canal sans fil.

Advanced wireless receivers

Les étudiants étendent leurs connaissances sur les systèmes de communication sans fil à la communication à spectre étalé et aux systèmes multi-antennes. Ils apprennent également les concepts de base de la théorie de l'information, le codage des canaux et la modulation codée entrelacée par bits.

Design and Optimization of Internet-of-Things Systems


Energy Autonomous Wireless Smart Systems

Introduction to Energy Autonomous Wireless Systems (D. Briand / 2h)
- Description of course organization and content
- Introduction to EAWS, building blocks, state of the art, applications, case studies

Energy sources and storage (D. Briand / 6h)
Working principles, technologies and comparison (efficiency, power density, potential applications) of energy sources and st