David Andrew Barry

EPFL ENAC IIE ECOL
GR B1 399 (Bâtiment GR)
Station 2
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Web site: https://ecol.epfl.ch/

EPFL ENAC IIE-GE
GR B1 399 (Bâtiment GR)
Station 2
CH-1015 Lausanne

vCard
Administrative data

Fields of expertise

Water quality 
Lake hydrodynamics 
Field measurement systems 
Groundwater 
Biogeochemical modeling 
Soil erosion 

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

Environmental Sciences and Engineering

PhD Programs

Doctoral Program in Civil and Environmental Engineering

Courses

Water quality modeling

This course builds on environmental chemistry and microbiology taken in previous courses. The emphasis is on quantification using the public domain package, PHREEQC, which is an excellent computation tool. Numerous applications are investigated during the course.

Introduction to environmental engineering

This introduction to Enviromental Engineering is meant to show the students how upcoming courses in mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology and other areas will be used to gain a scientific understanding of environmental problems and then help to solve them.

Soil sciences

This course is an introduction to Soil Sciences, and includes the main soil characteristics, properties and functions. The teaching is based on theoretical concepts, exercises as well as field and laboratory experiments.

Sites remediation

This course introduces the students in the different steps of contaminated site management, the techniques of site investigation, the choice of appropriate remediation techniques, and the modeling of the contaminants in aquifers.

David Andrew Barry

EPFL ENAC IIE ECOL
GR B1 399 (Bâtiment GR)
Station 2
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Site web: https://ecol.epfl.ch/

EPFL ENAC SSIE-GE
GR A2 392 (Bâtiment GR)
Station 2
CH-1015 Lausanne

EPFL ENAC IIE-GE
GR B1 399 (Bâtiment GR)
Station 2
CH-1015 Lausanne

vCard
Données administratives

Domaines de compétences

Qualité des eaux 
Hydrodynamique des lacs 
Systèmes de mesures de champ 
Eau souterraine 
Modélisation bio-géochimique 
Erosion des sols

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

Sciences et ingénierie de l'environnement

Programmes doctoraux

Programme doctoral en génie civil et environnement

Cours

Introduction to environmental engineering

Cette introduction à l'ingénierie de l'environnement montre aux étudiants comment on utilise les sciences de base comme les mathématiques, la physique, chimie et biologie pour comprendre des problèmes environnementaux et comment elles aident à les résoudre.

Sciences du sol

Le cours est une introduction aux Sciences du sol. Il a pour but de présenter les principales caractéristiques, propriétés et fonctions des sols. Il fait appel à des notions théoriques mais également à des cas d'étude pratique à l'aide d'exercices et de travaux pratiques.

Remédiation des sites

Ce cours familiarise les étudiants avec les différentes étapes de gestion des sites contaminés, les techniques d'investigation des sites, le choix d'une technologie de remédiation appropriée, et la modélisation de la contamination dans des nappes phréatiques.