Florence Graezer Bideau

EPFL CDH CDH-DIR CDH-DI
CM 2 270 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

EPFL CDH CDH-SHS SHS-ENS
CM 2 270 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

EPFL CDH IAGS IAGS-GE
CM 2 270 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

Administrative data

Fields of expertise

Epistemology and history of anthropology
Popular culture and cultural policy
Resistance and Innovation in urban space
Critical heritage studies
UNESCO heritage processes in China, Malaysia and Singapore
Intangible Cultural Heritage in Switzerland
Chinese New Towns

Publications

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

  • Humanities and Social Sciences Program,
  • Architecture

PhD Programs

  • Doctoral Program in Architecture and Sciences of the City

Courses

Asian studies

The course addresses key notions and themes related to cultures and societies in China and its neighbouring areas (Korea and Japan), and discusses their current issues in a historic and comparative perspective. goto

Humanities and Social Sciences Program, 2018-2019, Bachelor semester 3, language : french

Ephemeral city

This ENAC week consists in making students aware of the nature and character of a major public event and its effects on a city. The course provides both a historical approach and the observation of current events, represented, in this specific case, by th... goto

ENAC, 2018-2019, Bachelor semester 4, language :

Going East I

The course provides knowledge on urbanization processes in China and modes of living in Chinese cities. It examines current issues in historic and comparative perspective through the critical study of urban policies and social practices of inhabitants. goto

Humanities and Social Sciences Program, 2018-2019, Master semester 1, language : french

Going East II

The course provides knowledge on urbanization processes in China and modes of living in Chinese cities. It examines current issues in historic and comparative perspective through the critical study of urban policies and social practices of inhabitants. goto

Humanities and Social Sciences Program, 2018-2019, Master semester 2, language : french

Urbanism in Asia

As urbanization moves towards Asia, what are the concepts, methods, models and specificities of Asian cities? goto

MINEUR, 2018-2019, Spring semester, language : french
Section of Architecture, 2018-2019, Master semester 2, language : french
Section of Architecture, 2018-2019, Master semester 4, language : french

Worlds of heritage

The course provides knowledge about heritageization processes observed worldwide. Based on practical examples, it examines current issues from a historical and comparative perspective as well as the role played by the various institutions and local actors... goto

Humanities and Social Sciences Program, 2018-2019, Bachelor semester 5, language : french

Research

culture and power

- Makerspaces: politics and communities of innovation in contemporary China (2016-2019) Funded by the SNSF, this project is lead by Dr. Florence Graezer Bideau in collaboration with Dr. Marc Laperrouza, Monique Bolli and Clément Renaud (Iags, EPFL). It investigates the social, technical and commercial attributes of key Chinese makerspaces and their communities in three Chinese cities (Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzhen). While limited in size and scope, makerspaces and the maker movement in general offer a very rich environment to study much broader social, political and economic transformations taking place in contemporary China. It aims to shed light on how a bottom-up and autonomous movement responds to the co-opting of the State and to discuss the Chinese government’s plasticity and capacity to engage with emerging classes. - Cultural policy in China in the 20th century (1995-2005) Funded by several institutions (Mobility Grant between the University of Lausanne and Peking, Cantonal Grant of the Swiss Universities Central Office, and SNSF), this doctoral project was developed in China (Institute of Sociology and Anthropology, Peking University, Institute of Sociology, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), Beijing), Australia (Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, ANU, Canberra) and France (China Centre (CECMC), EHESS, Paris). The construction of cultural policy made up the core of my Ph.D. research in Beijing and Shaanxi Province between 1995 and 2000. I explored it through the detailed study of the practice of yangge, a traditional folk dance ritual banned during the Cultural Revolution but is now practiced once again under China's reform policy. The practice of yangge allowed me to reflect on issues of popular culture in 20th-century China and analyze the processes of selection and categorization of cultural elements essential to cultural policy at the national level. Central to my training as an anthropologist and a sinologist, this research on the development of cultural policy and the use of popular culture provided the starting point for my current work on intangible cultural heritage and heritagization at different national and international levels.

heritage

- Mapping controversial memories in the historic urban landscape : a multidisciplinary study of Beijing, Mexico City and Rome (2015-2017) Funded by the SNIS, this project is lead by Dr. Florence Graezer Bideau in collaboration with Dr. Yves Pedrazzini, Lesslie Herrera, Lucia Bordone (EPFL) and scholars in HES-Sierre, Chinese Academy of Cultural Heritage à Beijing, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana –Iztapalapa à Mexico City, Politecnico Torino, Tsinghua University, Roma 2 and Roma 3. The research aims to produce a comparative, multidisciplinary study on the impact of UNESCO’s Recommendation on the historic urban landscape, (RHUL 2011), which seeks to integrate conservation and development in urban policy. The project addresses three questions in Beijing, Mexico City and Rome. 1) Which memorial references are mobilized by local actors in their historical urban landscape? 2) To what extent does the perception of collective-memory overlap with the existing local implementation of heritage conservation policies? 3) Which potential approach for the recognition of plural memories within the RHUL best underpins attachment to urban territories? Combining methods from urban sociology, cultural anthropology and visual modeling, this project strives to contribute a better understanding of so-called collective memory dynamics and controversies that are emerging in these historic cities. The research encompasses popular understanding of uses of heritage, official norms and regulations as well as controversies produced by the mismatch of practice and discourse at the different levels of analysis: local; national; and international. - Implementation of the UNESCO Convention for Safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage in Switzerland: an ethnography of cultural bureaucracy in the federalist context (2009-2012, 2012-2014) Financed by the Swiss National Science Foundation (Sinergia Projects "Intangible Cultural Heritage: the Midas Touch?"and "Intangible Cultural Heritage: Whispered Words", directed by Prof. Ellen Hertz, University of Neuchâtel), this project followed the implementation of the UNESCO Convention, ratified by the Swiss Confederation in 2008. Using ethnographic methodology, complemented by a thorough mastery of the relevant documents and policy decision, this project explored how this new international cultural policy was applied in Switzerland and what effects it produced on Swiss conceptions of, and mobilization around, local, regional and national cultural forms. By surveying the process of cataloging intangible cultural heritage at various levels (local, cantonal, federal and international) - with a special focus on moments of definition and selection, (selection criteria, user guides, the use of outside expertise, the reference to "civil society") - this project shed new light on the nature of the relationship between state and society in the field of culture, the commodification or reification of cultural expressions and traditions, and the emergence of new forms of nationalism linked with folklorization. Adopting a broadly based comparative approach, this project not only explored Swiss cultural policy from a new angle - "intangible cultural heritage" - but also considered more comprehensively the effects of the UNESCO Convention on cultural policies worldwide. - Multiculturalism, cosmopolitanism and making heritage in Malaysia: overview from the Straits of Malacca (2006-2011) Begun in the context of the French-speaking Swiss Graduate Programme in Socio-Cultural Anthropology (CUSO) and funded by the University of Lausanne (Research Grant of the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences’ Dean office), this project was carried out in collaboration with Prof. Mondher Kilani (Laboratoire d’anthropologie culturelle et sociale, University of Lausanne) between 2006 and 2011. It was a reflection on multiculturalism and cosmopolitanism in Malaysia and revolved around the perceptions and representations of tangible and intangible cultural heritage within the three main communities of the Federation (Malay, Chinese and Indian) using a series of case studies in George Town (Penang), Melaka, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The comparative analysis of these distinct processes of heritagization highlighted political, economical, social, religious and cultural issues linked to the Malaysian "rainbow nation", while also drawing attention to some of the problems inherent in the apparently universal UNESCO framework (contradictions between tangible and intangible heritage, commodification of living culture, consequences of gentrification, etc.).

making of the city

- Hybrid cities: Informal Resistances to the Violence of Urbanization in China, India and Venezuela (2016-2019) Funded by the SNSF, the project is lead by Dr. Yves Pedrazzini (LAsur, EPFL) in collaboration with Dr. Florence Graezer Bideau, Salomé Houllier, Caroline Iorio (EPFL) and scholars in Politecnico di Torino, Anna University in Chennai, Instituto de Estudios Avanzados and Fundación Caracas and South China University of Technology in Guangzhou. As both a science and an ideology, contemporary urbanism induces a violence of urbanization. This is usually done in the name of formal planning of territory at the expense of informal settlements. The latter resist this formalization and their scheduled deletion, sometimes resorting to violence. In some cases this confrontation overcomes the duality between formal and informal. The confrontation of two icons of the modern city, the informal slum and the formal skyscraper, produces hybrid structures, objects, and details that move towards a new urbanism; our current cities are built by architectural, urban, territorial and social hybridization. This process creates an innovative and critical approach to the modern models of formal urbanization that seems to persecute the inhabitants of informal settlements, giving rise to resistance movements. These modalities vary widely across differing geopolitical contexts, which is why we work in three large urban areas simultaneously – Chennai in India, Guangzhou in China and Caracas in Venezuela. These we consider as separate expressions of a process that is global and complex; a process within which social struggles and urban problems bind closely through the development of new contradictions, all of which takes place at the heart of the city. – Chinese New Towns: negotiating citizenship and physical form (2015-2017) Funded by the Politecnico di Torino, the CeNTO project lead by Prof. Michele Bonino (Department of Architecture and Design) looks at the construction of the “third-generation” of Chinese New Towns that will host another 300 million rural Chinese migrating to urban areas over the next 20 years. Conditioned by certain new key-words promoted by the Chinese government - such as “innovation”, “sustainability”, “inclusive growth” - this research investigates how, through the lens of architecture and urban design, physical form, can reveal experimental processes of the negotiation of both citizenship and social identity. It also explores how Chinese New Towns have appropriated urban models from different contexts.

Florence Graezer Bideau

photo placeholder image

Maître d'enseignement et de recherche

florence.graezerbideau@epfl.ch +41 21 69 30236

EPFL CDH CDH-DIR CDH-DI
CM 2 270 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

EPFL CDH CDH-SHS SHS-ENS
CM 2 270 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

EPFL CDH IAGS IAGS-GE
CM 2 270 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

Données administratives

Compétences

Epistémologie et histoire de l'anthropologie
Culture populaire et politique culturelle
Résistance et innovation dans les espaces urbains
UNESCO et processus de patrimonialisation en Chine, Malaisie et Singapour
Patrimoine culturel immatériel en Suisse
Nouvelles villes chinoises

Publications

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

  • Humanities and Social Sciences Program,
  • Architecture

Programmes doctoraux

  • Doctoral Program in Architecture and Sciences of the City

Doctorants

Cours

Asian studies

Cet enseignement aborde les notions et thèmes relatifs aux cultures et sociétés des mondes chinois ainsi que de ses aires voisines (la Corée et le Japon) et discute de leurs enjeux actuels dans une perspective historique et comparative. goto

Programme Sciences humaines et sociales, 2018-2019, Bachelor semestre 3, language : français

Going East I

Le cours permet d'acquérir des connaissances sur les processus d'urbanisation et sur les modalités d'habiter les villes chinoises. Il examine les enjeux actuels dans une perspective historique et comparative à travers l'étude critique des politiques urbai... goto

Programme Sciences humaines et sociales, 2018-2019, Master semestre 1, language : français

Going East II

Le cours permet d'acquérir des connaissances sur les processus d'urbanisation et sur les modalités d'habiter les villes chinoises. Il examine les enjeux actuels dans une perspective historique et comparative à travers l'étude critique des politiques urbai... goto

Programme Sciences humaines et sociales, 2018-2019, Master semestre 2, language : français

La ville éphémère

L'enseignement consiste à sensibiliser les étudiants à la nature et au caractère d'un grand évènement public et à ses effets sur la ville. L'enseignement prévoit tant une approche historique que l'observation de l'actualité, représentée, dans ce cas spéci... goto

Projeter ensemble ENAC, 2018-2019, Bachelor semestre 4, language :

Les mondes du patrimoine

Le cours permet d'acquérir des connaissances sur les processus de patrimonialisation observés de par le monde. A partir d'exemples concrets, il examine les enjeux actuels dans une perspective historique et comparative ainsi que le rôle joué par les divers... goto

Programme Sciences humaines et sociales, 2018-2019, Bachelor semestre 5, language : français

Urbanisme en Asie

Le centre de gravité de l'urbanisation du monde se déplace vers le continent asiatique. Quels sont les concepts, méthodes, modèles et singularités propres aux villes d'Asie? goto

Architecture, 2018-2019, Master semestre 2, language : français
Architecture, 2018-2019, Master semestre 4, language : français
MINEUR, 2018-2019, Semestre printemps, language : français

Recherche

culture et pouvoir

- Makerspaces : politiques et communautés d’innovation en Chine contemporaine (2016-2019) Financé par le FNS, le projet est dirigé par Dr. Florence Graezer Bideau en collaboration avec Dr. Marc Laperrouza, Monique Bolli et Clément Renaud (Iags, EPFL). Il étudie les caractéristiques sociales, techniques et commerciales des principaux makerspaces chinois ainsi que leurs communautés dans trois villes chinoises (Beijing, Shanghai et Shenzhen). Bien que limités dans leur taille et portée, les makerspaces et le mouvement maker en général offre un riche environnement pour étudier plus largement les transformations sociales, politiques et économiques qui s’opèrent en Chine contemporaine. Le projet cherche à éclairer la manière dont un mouvement de la base et autonome répond à la cooptation de l’Etat et examine la plasticité du gouvernement chinois ainsi que sa capacité à établir des rapports constructifs avec les classes émergeantes. - Construction de la politique culturelle en Chine (1995-2005) Financé par plusieurs institutions (Bourse de mobilité entre les universités de Lausanne et de Pékin, Bourse d’Etat de l’Office central universitaire suisse, puis FNS), ce projet de recherche doctorale s’est développé en Chine (Institut de Sociologie et d'Anthropologie, Université de Pékin ; Institut de Sociologie, Académie des Sciences Sociales de Chine (CASS), Pékin), en Australie (Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, ANU, Canberra) et en France (Centre Chine (CECMC), EHESS, Paris). La construction de la politique culturelle chinoise a été au cœur de mes recherches doctorales menées entre Pékin et la Province du Shaanxi entre 1995 et 2000. Elle a été abordée à travers l’étude détaillée de la pratique du yangge, ancienne danse populaire rituelle, interdite durant la Révolution culturelle et aujourd’hui à nouveau pratiquée dans le contexte des Réformes. La pratique du yangge m’a permise de réfléchir sur les enjeux de la notion de culture populaire dans la Chine du XXe siècle et d’analyser le processus de sélection et de catégorisation d’éléments culturels qui rendront possible la construction d’une politique culturelle à l’échelle nationale. Centrale pour ma formation d’anthropologue et de sinologue, cette recherche sur la mise en place des politiques culturelles et l’usage de la culture populaire ont constitué des points de départ pour mes recherches actuelles autour des processus de patrimonialisation et de la fabrication de la ville sur plusieurs niveaux, national et international.

patrimoine

- Mapping controversial memories in the historic urban landscape : a multidisciplinaire study of Beijing, Mexico City and Rome (2015-2017) Financé par le SNIS, le projet est dirigé par Dr. Florence Graezer Bideau en collaboration avec Dr Yves Pedrazzin, Lesslie Herrera, Lucia Bordone (EPFL) ainsi que chercheurs à la HES-Sierre, Chinese Academy of Cultural Heritage à Beijing, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana –Iztapalapa à Mexico City, Politecnico Torino, Tsinghua University, Roma 2 et Roma 3). Le projet vise à produire une étude comparative et multidisciplinaire sur l’impact de la Recommandation de l’UNESCO sur le paysage historique urbain (RHUL 2011) qui cherche à intégrer la conservation et le développement dans les politiques urbaines. Il aborde trois questions dans les villes de Beijing, Mexico City et Rome : 1) Quelles sont les références mémorielles mobilisées par les acteurs locaux dans leur paysage historique urbain ? 2) Dans quelle mesure la perception de la mémoire collective se superpose-t-elle avec la mise en œuvre des politiques locales de préservation du patrimoine ? 3) Quel est le potentiel de la Recommandation sur les paysages urbains historiques pour la reconnaissance des mémoires plurielles qui sous-tendent l’attachement des personnes au territoire ? Le projet entend contribuer à une meilleure compréhension des dynamiques de ce qu’on appelle la mémoire collective et des controverses qui émergent dans ces villes historiques. A cet effet, la recherche examine les usages ordinaires du patrimoine, les normes et régulations officielles ainsi que les controverses produites par l’observation de la différence entre les discours et les pratiques à diverses échelles d’analyse : locale, nationale et internationale. - Mise en œuvre de la Convention pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel en Suisse: une ethnographie de l’administration culturelle dans un contexte fédéraliste (2009-2012, 2012-2014) Financé par le FNS (Projets Sinergia « Intangible Cultural Heritage : the Midas Touch ? », puis « Intangible Cultural Heritage: Whispered Words », dirigés par la Prof. Ellen Hertz, Université de Neuchâtel), ce projet a suivit la mise en œuvre de la Convention pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel en Suisse ratifiée par la Confédération en 2008. Basé sur une méthode ethnographique complétée par une maîtrise approfondie des documents et des décisions politiques pertinents, ce projet avait pour objectif de découvrir comment cette nouvelle politique culturelle internationale était mise en œuvre en Suisse et quels effets elle avait produit sur les conceptions suisses et sur les mobilisations autour des formes culturelles locales, régionales et nationales. En étudiant le processus de l’inventaire du patrimoine culturel immatériel sur plusieurs niveaux (local, cantonal, fédéral et international), avec une attention particulière sur les moments de définitions et de sélections (critères de sélection, modes d’emploi, expertise externe, référence à la société civile), ce projet a permis de jeter une lumière nouvelle sur la nature de la relation entre l'État et la société dans le domaine de la culture, la marchandisation ou la réification des expressions culturelles et de la tradition, l’émergence de nouvelles formes de nationalisme liées à la folklorisation. Adoptant une approche comparative relativement large, ce projet a non seulement éclairé sous un angle nouveau le patrimoine culturel immatériel et les spécificités de la politique culturelle en Suisse, mais a aussi interrogé de manière plus globale les effets des Conventions de l’UNESCO sur les politiques culturelles à travers le monde. Voir http://www2.unine.ch/webdav/site/ethno/shared/documents/recherches/presse-midas-Hertz.pdf - Multiculturalisme, cosmopolitisme et fabrication du patrimoine en Malaisie : une perspective depuis le Détroit de Malacca (2006-2011) Financé par l’Université de Lausanne (Fonds de recherche du Décanat SSP), ce projet a été mené en collaboration avec le Prof. Mondher Kilani (Laboratoire d’anthropologie culturelle et sociale, Université de Lausanne) entre 2006 et 2011 et a débuté dans le cadre d’un programme postgrade d’anthropologie culturelle et sociale des universités romandes (CUSO). Le projet de recherche s’inscrivait dans une réflexion autour du multiculturalisme et du cosmopolitisme en Malaisie. Il s’articulait autour de la perception et de la représentation du patrimoine culturel matériel et immatériel des trois principales communautés de la Fédération (malaise, chinoise et indienne) à partir d’une série d’études de cas à George Town (île de Penang), à Melaka, Kuala Lumpur ou Singapour. L’analyse comparative de ces processus de patrimonialisation différenciés a mis en exergue divers enjeux politiques, économiques, sociaux, religieux et culturels liés à cette nation « arc-en-ciel » tout en interrogeant certaines apories du discours universaliste de l’UNESCO (contradictions entre la culture matérielle et la culture immatérielle, marchandisation de la culture vivante, conséquences de la gentrification, etc.)

fabrication de la ville

- Villes hybrides : résistances informelles face à la violence de l’urbanisme au Venezuela, Inde et Chine (2016-2019) Financé par le FNS, le projet est dirigé par Dr. Yves Pedrazzini (Lasur, EPFL) en collaboration avec Dr. Florence Graezer Bideau, Salomé Houllier et Caroline Iorio (EPFL) ainsi que des chercheurs au Politecnico di Torino, Anna University de Chennai, Instituto de Estudios Avanzados and Fundación Caracas et la South China University of Technology à Guangzhou. L’urbanisme contemporain comme science et idéologie induit une violence de l’urbanisation qui s’exerce au nom d’une planification formelle de l’espace sur les quartiers informels. Ceux-ci résistent, recourant souvent à leur tour à la violence de leur effacement programmé. Dans certains cas significatifs pour la recherche urbaine comme pour l’action politique, cette confrontation dépasse la dualité entre formalité et informalité. Assemblant deux figures de la ville moderne, l’une informelle – le bidonville – l’autre formelle – le gratte-ciel –, cette confrontation produit les hybrides, proposant dès lors les termes d’un nouvel urbanisme : les villes se construisent désormais par hybridation architecturale, urbanistique et territoriale. Ce processus permet d’aborder de manière novatrice et critique les modèles modernes d’urbanisation formels et qui semblent s’acharner contre les habitants des quartiers informels, engendrant des mouvements de résistance. Ces modalités varient fortement selon les contextes géopolitiques et c’est la raison pour laquelle nous travaillerons simultanément dans trois grandes régions urbaines – Chennai en Inde, Guangzhou en Chine et Caracas au Vénézuela – en les considérant comme des expressions distinctes d’un processus à la fois général et complexe, celui par lequel luttes sociales et problèmes urbains se lient de façon étroite en développant de nouvelles contradictions qui prennent place au cœur de la vie urbaine. - Chinese New TOwns: negotiating citizenship and physical form (2015-2017) Financé par le Politecnico di Torino, le projet CeNTO est dirigé par le Prof. Michele Bonino (Département d’Architecture et Design). Il examine la construction de la « troisième génération » de nouvelles villes chinoises qui accueillera 300 millions de Chinois ruraux qui vont s’installer dans les zones urbaines dans les 20 prochaines années. Conditionnée par un certain nombre de nouveaux mots-clés promus par le gouvernement chinois tels que « innovation », « durabilité », « croissance inclusive », cette recherche étudie comment les formes physiques peuvent révéler des processus expérimentaux de négociation de la citoyenneté et de l’identité sociale à travers le prisme de l’architecture et de l’aménagement urbain. Ce projet cherche également à explorer comment les nouvelles villes chinoises s’approprient des modèles urbains issus de différents contextes.