Juhan Aru

photo placeholder image

juhan.aru@epfl.ch +41 21 693 87 64

EPFL SB MATH RGM
MA B2 467 (Bâtiment MA)
Station 8
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Web site: https://www.epfl.ch/labs/rgm/

vCard
Administrative data

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

Mathematics

PhD Programs

Doctoral Program in Mathematics

Courses

Metric and topological spaces

In metric spaces a distance is defined between each pair of points. In topological spaces, distances are replaced by only a certain notion of nearness. This abstract setting sheds new light upon basic questions: What is continuity? When should we consider two spaces to be equal?

Probability

This course provides an introduction to probability theory - the mathematical study of randomness. The aim is to get to know the basic mathematical framework of probability theory, and to learn to think and argue in this framework.

Martingales et mouvement brownien

Introduction to the theory of martingales in discrete time, in particular convergence and optional sampling theorems. Application to branching processes. Introduction to Brownian motion and its main properties.

Juhan Aru

photo placeholder image

juhan.aru@epfl.ch +41 21 693 87 64

EPFL SB MATH RGM
MA B2 467 (Bâtiment MA)
Station 8
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Site web: https://www.epfl.ch/labs/rgm/

vCard
Données administratives

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

Mathematics

Programmes doctoraux

Doctoral Program in Mathematics

Cours

Metric and topological spaces

C'est un cours de base des espaces métriques et topologiques. On va voir comment une notion abstraite de proximité, utilisée pour défnir les espaces topologiques, nous aide à répondre aux questions fondamentaux: Qu'est-ce que la continuité? Quand devrions-nous considérer que deux espaces sont egaux?

Probability

C'est un cours d'introduction à la théorie des probabilités - l'étude mathématique du hasard. L'objectif est de faire connaissance avec le cadre mathématique de la théorie des probabilités et d'apprendre à penser et à argumenter dans ce cadre.

Gaussian processes

C'est un cours d'introduction au monde des processus gaussiens. On va étudier à la fois la théorie générale et des exemples concrets pour comprendre l'origine et les propriétés des processus gaussiens.