Stephan Morgenthaler

photo placeholder image

Full Professor

stephan.morgenthaler@epfl.ch +41 21 693 42 32

EPFL SB MATH STAP
MA B1 473 (Bâtiment MA)
Station 8
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Web site: https://stap.epfl.ch/

vCard
Administrative data

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

Mathematics

PhD Programs

Doctoral Program in Mathematics

Courses

Probability

This course is an introduction to probability theory for student in the Mathematics section. Starting from the axioms of the theory, the course presents the concepts of combinatorial analysis, the notions of discrete and continuous random variables and ve...

Probabilities and statistics

This course is an introduction to probability theory and statistics. Based on the fundamental concepts of probability, it presents the notions of statistical inference and linear regression.

Robust and nonparametric statistics

In the decades from 1930 to 1950, many rank-based statistics were introduced. These methods were received with much interest, because they worked under weak conditions. Starting in the late 1950, a theory of robustness was added. The course gives an overv...

Data Analysis for Science and Engineering

An overview course intended for scientists and engineers who need to use statistical methods as part of their research, who have already attended a course at the second-year EPFL undergraduate level, and need revision and deepening of their knowledge at a...

Stephan Morgenthaler

photo placeholder image

Professeur de statistique appliquée

stephan.morgenthaler@epfl.ch +41 21 69 34232

EPFL SB MATH STAP
MA B1 473 (Bâtiment MA)
Station 8
CH-1015 Lausanne

Unité: SMA-ENS

Données administratives

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

  • Mathematics,

Programmes doctoraux

  • Doctoral Program in Mathematics

Doctorants

Cours

Probabilités

Ce cours est une introduction à la théorie des probabilités pour étudiants de la Section de mathématiques. A partir des axiomes de la théorie, il présente l'analyse combinatoire, les principales lois discrètes et continues, les variables et vecteurs aléat... goto


Probabilités et statistique

Ce cours enseigne les notions élémentaires de la théorie de probabilité et les méthodes de l'analyse de données et de la statistique, tels que les tests, la régression et les plans d'expériences. goto


Multivariate statistics

La statistique multivariée propose de modèles et des méthodes pour l'analyse de données vectorielles. La découverte et la description des associations entre les variables est le but premier. Le cours introduira les plus importants de ces techniques. goto


Biostatistics

La biostatistique s'occupe de l'utilisation des méthodes statistiques à la médicine et aux sciences du vivant. Le cours couvre les méthodes et les problèmes les plus courantes dans ce domaine. goto


Data Analysis for Science and Engineering

goto