Romain Zufferey

EPFL SV SSV-GE
AAB 1 01 (Bâtiment AAB)
Station 19
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Web site: https://sv.epfl.ch/education

EPFL SV SSV-GE
AAB 1 01 (Bâtiment AAB)
Station 19
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Web site: https://sv.epfl.ch/section_stv

vCard
Administrative data

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

Life Sciences Engineering

Courses

Cellular biology and biochemistry for engineers

Basic course in biochemistry as well as cellular and molecular biology for non-life science students enrolling at the Master or PhD thesis level from various engineering disciplines. It reviews essential notions necessary for a training in biology-related engineering fields.

Introduction to life sciences (for IC)

The course introduces the fundamental principles observable in all living organisms. As much as possible, emphasis is put on the contributions from Informatics to the development of Life Sciences.

Cellular and Molecular Biology II

This course is aimed to familiarize students with the 3D organization of a eukaryotic cell, its compartmentalization, how cellular compartments communicate together and how a cell communicates with its environment. The related molecular mechanisms will be discussed.

Morphology I

This class is a specific preparation for the admission exam to join the third year of the Medical School. It covers the macroscopic (anatomy), microscopic (histology) morphology of head, neck and trunk with a medical perspective.

Morphology II

Morphology II allows students who have taken Morphology I to deepen their knowledge by studying the radiological anatomy and the developmental processes. Frequent malformations are explained in relation to embryology. Selected topics required for the admission to the Medical School are covered.

Biology for engineers

This course consists of an introduction to biology and more particularly to biology as a multidisciplinary field, emphasizing natural examples of materials engineering. It should therefore allow engineering students to find inspiration from biology in future materials research problems.

Romain Zufferey

EPFL SV SSV-GE
AAB 1 01 (Bâtiment AAB)
Station 19
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Site web: https://sv.epfl.ch/education

EPFL SV SSV-GE
AAB 1 01 (Bâtiment AAB)
Station 19
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Site web: https://sv.epfl.ch/section_stv

vCard
Données administratives

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

Life Sciences Engineering

Cours

Cellular biology and biochemistry for engineers

Cours intégré d'introduction à la biologie cellulaire et la biochimie pour étudiants en ingénierie au niveau master ou doctoral. Ce cours présente les notions essentiellles permettant aux futurs ingénieurs de s'intégrer dans une équipe multidisciplinaire

Introduction aux sciences du vivant (pour IC)

Ce cours présente les principes fondamentaux à l'œuvre dans les organismes vivants. Autant que possible, l'accent est mis sur les contributions de l'Informatique aux progrès des Sciences de la Vie.

Biologie cellulaire et moléculaire II

Ce cours est destiné à familiariser les étudiants avec l'organisation 3-dimensionnelle d'une cellule eucaryote, sa compartimentalisation, comment des compartiments communiquent entre eux et comment une cellule communique avec son environment. Les mécanismes moléculaires sous jascents seront abordés.

Morphologie I

Ce cours est une préparation intensive à l'examen d'entrée en 3ème année de Médecine. Les matières enseignées sont la morphologie macroscopique (anatomie) , microscopique (histologie) de la tête, du cou et du tronc. La matière est présentée dans une perspective médicale.

Morphologie II

Ce cours permet aux étudiants ayant suivi Morphologie I de réviser et d'approfondir leurs connaissances par l'étude de l'anatomie radiologique et du développement. L'origine de malformations fréquentes est décrite. Divers sujets requis pour l'examen d'entrée à la Passerelle sont aussi traités.

Biologie pour ingénieurs

Le cours est une introduction aux sciences de la vie en tant que domaine pluridisciplinaire ayant de multiples connexions avec l'ingénierie des matériaux. Il permettra aux étudiants de trouver dans la biologie une inspiration lors des leur activités dans le domaine des matérieaux.