Philippe Thalmann

photo placeholder image

Associate Professor

philippe.thalmann@epfl.ch +41 21 693 73 21 http://leure.epfl.ch

Citizenship : Suisse

Birth date : 11.06.1963

EPFL ENAC IA LEURE
BP 2137 (Bâtiment BP)
Station 16
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site: Web site: https://leure.epfl.ch

vCard
Administrative data

Fields of expertise

Environmental economics
Climate economics
Economics of sustainable development
Housing economics
Real estate economics
Urban economics

Publications

Infoscience publications

Selected publications

Research

Teaching & PhD

Teaching

Architecture

Design Together ENAC

PhD Programs

Doctoral Program in Architecture and Sciences of the City

Doctoral Program in Civil and Environmental Engineering

Courses

Land, properties, housing

This MOOC-based course prepares to the analysis of the economic context of construction projects: land acquisition, land prices, property prices, housing prices (rental and owner-occ.), in an urban setting. At the end of the course, students will understa...

Energy supply, economics and transition

This course examines the supply of energy from various angles: available resources, how they can be combined or substituted, their private and social costs, whether they can meet the demand, and how the transition to a renewable energy system can be foste...

Environmental Economics for Engineers

Economic analysis (supply, demand, prices, elasticities), applied to environmental issues: externalities, instruments of environmental regulation (voluntary approaches, incentive taxes, emissions markets), assessment of economic impacts and valuation of n...

Climate economics for engineers

The course introduces non economists to the economic analysis of climate change: economic activity and climate change, estimation of climate impacts, optimal mitigation and adaptation, national and international climate policy, instruments for climate pol...

Global issues: climate B

This course presents the global issue of climate change: climate system and prediction; impacts on ecosystems and biodiversity; historic frame and public debate; climate targets and policies. The interdisciplinary approach introduces students to working i...

Economic growth and sustainability II

This course examines growth from various angles: population growth, economic growth, growth in the use of resources, growing inequality, need for growth, limits to growth, sustainable growth. Although grounded in economics, it takes up elements from many ...

Economic growth and sustainability I

This course examines growth from various angles: population growth, economic growth, growth in the use of resources, growing inequality, need for growth, limits to growth, sustainable growth. Although grounded in economics, it takes up elements from many ...

Organisation of a sustainable construction project

Initiation to the preparation and implementation of construction projects: organization (who does what, when and why?), conditions, challenges and risks, experiences. Particular emphasis on social and sustainable housing, in particular cooperatives and ec...

Philippe Thalmann

EPFL ENAC IA LEURE
BP 2137 (Bâtiment BP)
Station 16
CH-1015 Lausanne

Web site:   Site web:   https://leure.epfl.ch

EPFL CDH SHS-GE
CM 2 274 (Centre Midi)
Station 10
CH-1015 Lausanne

EPFL CEN
BAC 104 (Château de Bassenges)
Station 5
CH-1015 Lausanne

Local:   BAC 104
EPFL > VPA > VPA-AVP-CP > CEN > CEN-GE

Web site:   Site web:   https://energycenter.epfl.ch/

vCard
Données administratives

Domaines de compétences

Enseignement et recherche dans les domaines de l'économie de l'environnement, en particulier du climat et de l'énergie, du développement durable, du logement et de l'immobilier. 

Publications

Publications Infoscience

Recherche

Enseignement & Phd

Enseignement

Architecture

Design Together ENAC

Programmes doctoraux

Doctoral Program in Architecture and Sciences of the City

Doctoral Program in Technology Management

Doctoral Program in Civil and Environmental Engineering

Cours

Foncier, immobilier, logement

Ce cours basé sur un MOOC prépare à l'analyse du contexte économique du projet de construction: acquisition du terrain, prix fonciers, prix immobiliers, prix du logement (locatif et en propriété), dans le cadre urbain. A la fin du cours, l'étudiant-e comprendra les déterminants de ces prix.

Energy supply, economics and transition

Ce cours examine l'offre d'énergie sous différents angles : les ressources disponibles, comment les combiner ou les remplacer, leurs coûts privés et sociaux, si elles peuvent répondre à la demande, et comment favoriser la transition vers un système énergétique renouvelable.

Environmental economics

Introduction à l'analyse économique appliquée à l'environnement: tous les concepts de base nécessaires, y.c. l'analyse coûts-avantages, pour la politique environnementale et ses instruments (ex.: climat, déchets, mobilité). Introduction au calcul financier appliqué à l'évaluation de projets.

Enjeux mondiaux: climat B

Le cours présente les enjeux mondiaux liés au climat: système climatique et prévisions ; impacts sur écosystèmes et biodiversité ; cadrage historique et débat public ; objectifs et politiques climatiques. L'approche interdisciplinaire initie au travail de groupe et à la méthodologie scientifique.

Développement durable A

L'objectif de ce cours est de donner une compréhension globale des enjeux de la durabilité et de ses implications. Si nous voulons transitionner vers un système qui respecte les limites de la planète, quelles "innovations" économiques, sociales et culturelles devons-nous introduire?

Economic growth and sustainability II

Ce cours examine la croissance sous divers angles: démographique, économique, utilisation des ressources, inégalités, nécessité, limites, croissance durable. Bien qu'ancré dans l'économie, il reprend des éléments de nombreuses autres disciplines.

Economic growth and sustainability I

Ce cours examine la croissance sous divers angles: démographique, économique, utilisation des ressources, inégalités, nécessité, limites, croissance durable. Bien qu'ancré dans l'économie, il reprend des éléments de nombreuses autres disciplines.